Beautiful Friday

Hey guys!  It’s been a while – I’ve been busy working hard (all my studying is paying off – I got an A on my last accounting test!) and playing hard (running, making berry oat bars, going to an AMAZING Avett Brothers concert last weekend, and doing some serious knitting/Law&OrderSVU de-stressing)!

Today was a great day for lots of reasons:  it was absolutely gorgeous outside, I picked up my first CSA box full of veggie goodness, Toby is coming to cheer me on as I run the Hogeye 1/2 marathon Sunday, and my LAST DAY of work is tomorrow!  I’m so, so excited to have a few weeks without the stress of work to finish up my last semester before I start my internship this summer.  Also, a lot of my work friends have moved on and it hasn’t been quite as fun as it used to be.  So here’s my CSA loot!  (from Mason Creek Farm)

Shiitake Mushrooms

Petite beets - so pretty! I already roasted the TINY beets for salads tonight, and plan to saute the greens soon.

Easter Eggs! Love the colors. These will make me a mean omelet after the Hogeye Sunday.

Spinach and Salad Greens

I <3 my CSA already. This lilac smells awesome!

Also, I wanted to tell you guys about a blog I recently discovered – Chocolate Covered Katie.  Can’t go wrong with a Katie, especially one covered in chocolate, right?!  But seriously, she’s got some great stuff on her blog.  I’ve already made her Boatmeal (delicious despite my setting off the fire alarm at 7am – sorry, neighbors!) and Single Lady Cookies, to which I highly recommend adding a little bit of nut butter – yum!  They actually taste like cookies, unlike a few scaled-down cookie recipes I’ve tried.  Thanks for the great ideas, Katie, I definitely added you to my GReader immediately!

Cinnamon Roll Boatmeal

Single Lady Cookies, with a side of blackberries

And finally, before this post gets too long, let me share a “recipe” that I made for dinner tonight.  I hesitate to call it a recipe because it is so simple, but it’s also incredibly delicious.  So the story is, T and I LOVE the Freaky Steve’s pizza at Pesto Cafe so much that we’ve been plotting an attempt to copy it at home for months.  Then serendipitously he found this sweet Indian market in Little Rock (where we now shop almost every weekend) that sells frozen whole wheat roti.  We both made pizzas with the roti last week and loved them, so I decided to finally dig out the jar of pesto T got me for Christmas and do it already!

Roti and Toppings

Veggies, AKA the Best Part

Don't scrimp, pesto is awesome.

Loaded with Veggies

Add tomatoes, avocado, and ricotta. Oh, hell yes.

Roti Pesto Pizza

Step one:  gather the goods.  You’ll need Deep Foods frozen whole wheat roti, pesto, ricotta cheese, and an assortment of vegetables.  I used broccoli, carrots, red bell pepper, red onion, zucchini, mushrooms, avocado, and cherry tomatoes.

Step two:  prepare the veggies.  Chop them into smallish pieces, then saute in olive oil.  I did not saute the avocado (obviously) or the cherry tomatoes.

Step three:  assemble the pizzas.  Spread the pesto liberally onto the roti, cover with sauteed vegetables, then tomatoes and avocado.  Finally, dot with ricotta.

Step four:  cook and enjoy!  Bake at 425 for about five minutes or until hot.  Serve immediately.

Obviously, you could substitute your preferred pizza crust, sauce (marinara is delicious too), roast the veggies instead (less fattening and equally delicious option), and/or use different cheeses, but they’re super easy to make, especially if you cook the vegetables ahead of time.

Hope you guys can find some yummy roti and try out the pizza!  By the time I post again, I will (hopefully) have completed my second half marathon, so keep your fingers crossed for me Sunday morning!  I have a yummy CSA brunch planned (that I’m hoping T will make for me while I lie on the couch)!  See you soon!

Is anyone else running in a race this weekend?  Good luck!

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

